About CSPC

[lab_heading title=”Brief History”][/lab_heading]Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges came into being when Batas Pambansa Bilang 512 was approved on June 10, 1983 by then President Ferdinand E. Marcos. In May 7, 1985, the College formally opened its doors for enrollment making it a red-letter day for every CSPCean.

For 36 years, eight competent leaders, including Dr. Charlito P. Cadag, the current President who took on the task of taking the reins for CSPC on July 10, 2019, have shaped this humble institution with the primordial goal to achieve a culture of excellence.

Atty. Fernando O. Beriña, the first officer-in-charge (OIC) of CSPC, steered the College from April 1985 to September 1986. On September 25, 1986, Dr. Lylia Corporal-Sena was appointed as the very first CSPC president and led the institution for seven productive years. In March 1, 1993, Mr. Ferdinand B. Valencia became the officer-in-charge, followed by Dr. Lourdes G. Laniog, who assumed the officer-in-charge position from May 16, 1997 to March 4, 1998. In March 5, 1998, Dr. Laniog was appointed president and directed CSPC for four more years. In May 2002, Dr. Monsito G. Ilarde served the College as the third president. He held his position for nine years before Dr. Dulce F. Atian was elected as new president in May 2011. With her remarkable accomplishments, Dr. Atian was given an outstanding evaluation that gave her a unanimous vote for another term to continue her service as the College President from May 2, 2015 to May 2, 2019. When Dr. Atian’s second term as the President of CSPC ended on May 2, 2019, the Board of Trustees (BOT) of the College appointed Dr. Teresita B. Salazar, the Vice President for Academic Affairs (VPAA), as the OIC from May 3, 2019 to July 9, 2019. On July 10, 2019, Dr. Cadag was elected as the 5th President of the Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges. On the same date, he was sworn in as President in the presence of the CSPC Board of Trustees.

In retrospect, there was an expansion of the educational frontiers of CSPC under BOT Resolution No. 08-439 approved on February 28, 2008. The CSPC Buhi Campus was established as a response to the quest of the Local Government of Buhi to make college education accessible to the underprivileged but deserving students of the municipality.

Significantly, as a premier polytechnic college in the Bicol region, CSPC was considered by the Department of Science and Technology – Philippine Council for Industry, Energy, and Emerging technology Research and Development (DOST-PCIEERD) as the base agency of the Bicol Consortium for Industry, Energy and Emerging Technology Research and Development (BCIEERD), which serves as the secretariat of the consortium. Moreover, CSPC chairs the BCIEERD Coordinating Council.

On June 2013, after all the efforts committed by the entire CSPC family to attain internationalization, the College was awarded the ISO 9001:2008 Certification, making it the first institution in the Rinconada area to obtain such certification and second in the Bicol region. But CSPC, being ambitious when it comes to the pursuit of quality and excellent education and services, endeavored for the better and was bestowed with the ISO 9001:2015 Certification on August 2018.

To further fire up CSPC’s standing when it comes to providing quality education and excellent services, House Bill No. 5119 entitled, “An Act Converting the Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges (CSPC) in the Municipality of Nabua, Province of Camarines Sur, into a State University to be known as the Polytechnic State University of Bicol,” was filed in 2017 by Hon. Salvador B. Belaro, Jr. of 1-ANG EDUKASYON Partylist as principal sponsor and Hon. Salvio B. Fortuno, representative of the 5th District of Camarines Sur, as co-sponsor.
After months of purposeful waiting, Pres. Rodrigo R. Duterte finally signed the law converting CSPC into Polytechnic State University of Bicol. RA 11283 was approved by Pres. Duterte on April 12, 2019.

As CSPC celebrates its milestones of success of sustaining academic excellence, it maintains its vision of becoming the regional center of excellence in polytechnic education. With the spirit of dynamism of the present leaders and workforce, CSPC will continue to grow, serve, and pursue its goals and commitment to the people of Bicol and beyond.

[lab_heading title=”Facts and Figures”]Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges by Numbers[/lab_heading]



San Miguel, Nabua
Camarines Sur




Dr. Charlito P. Cadag

SUC President III[lab_heading title=”Presidents through the years”]Leading the College for more than 30 years towards excellence.[/lab_heading][lab_team_members layout_type=”titles-inside”][lab_team_members_member image=”7011″ name=”Dr. Charlito P. Cadag” sub_title=”5th President (2019-present)”][lab_team_members_member image=”7010″ name=”Dr. Teresita B. Salazar” sub_title=”Officer-in-Charge (May – July 2019)”][lab_team_members_member image=”4919″ name=”Dr. Dulce F. Atian” sub_title=”4th President (2011 – 2019)”][lab_team_members_member image=”4910″ name=”Dr. Monsito G. Ilarde” sub_title=”3rd President (2002-2011)”][lab_team_members_member image=”4920″ name=”Dr. Lourdes G. Laniog” sub_title=”2nd President (1997-2002)”][lab_team_members_member image=”4922″ name=”Mr. Ferdinand B. Valencia” sub_title=”Officer-in-Charge (1993-1997)”][lab_team_members_member image=”4921″ name=”Dr. Lylia C. Sena” sub_title=”1st President (1986-1993)”][lab_team_members_member image=”4923″ name=”Atty. Fernando O. Berina” sub_title=”Officer-in-Charge (1985-1986)”][/lab_team_members]