CSPC wins big in Internationalization and ASEAN Fest 2021

Entries from Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges were recognized as winners in the Internationalization and ASEAN Festival 2021 held from August to October.

Zairah Shane J. Barcela, an AB English Language Studies student, was declared First Placer in the ASEAN Creative National Costume Competition. Her Mayon Volcano-inspired outfit was hailed as the best among 13 competitors.

Barcela’s costume, inspired by the folklore of Daragang Magayon.

A rendition of “Rinampo,” a traditional dance of the Agta Tribe, earned Second Place in the ASEAN Cultural Dance Competition. The rendition was performed by a group composed of students of Bachelor of Culture and Arts Education, Bachelor of Technical-Vocational Teacher Education, and BS Office Administration.

Finishing in the Second Place of the ASEAN Cuisine Contest was the delicacy called “Beef Kare-Kare in Creamy Pili Nut Sauce” by the duo of Eric John B. Namoro and Samer S. Pelecia, BS Hospitality Management students.

Consolation prize recipients were the team of Jade Lester C. Ballester (BS Information Technology) and Christian E. Cantor (BS Entrepreneurship) who competed in the ASEAN Video Production Contest, and John Reynold Brioso (BS Civil Engineering) in the ASEAN Essay Writing Contest.

The Tarlac Agricultural University collaborated with local and international partner schools to organize various student competitions for this year’s festival.

Other participating institutions were Don Honorio Ventura State University, Romblon State University from Luzon; Iloilo Science and Technology University, Aklan State University, Northern Negros State College of Science and Technology, and Southern Leyte State University from Visayas; Agusan Del Sur State College of Agriculture and Technology, Bukidnon State University, Surigao Del Sur State University and Western Mindanao State University from Mindanao; Royal University of Law and Economics (Cambodia); Universitas Pendidikan Ganesha (Indonesia); Dongkhamxang Agriculture Technical College (Laos); Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (Malaysia); Kyaing Tong University (Myanmar); Temasek Polytechnic (Singapore); Chiang Rai Rajabhat University (Thailand); and Duy Tan University (Vietnam).

The 10-week event culminated o October 29, 2021, and the winners were announced on November 25, 2021 during a virtual ceremony.